What is a Plan of Management (PoM) under the Local Government Act?

    Plans of Management under the Local Government Act:

    • Categorise land.
    • Identify management objectives and performance targets for the land.
    • Provide express authorisations to grant lease or licenses over the land and determine what development can take place as PoMs can be more restrictive than the LEP in terms of permissible development or new uses or activities.

    When community land is categorised as an area of cultural significance, a Plan of Management includes additional information regarding:

    • The condition of the land and any improvements on the land.
    • The scale and intensity of future uses and developments so that the significance of that land (or the improvements on the land) can be protected.

    Why are we developing this PoM?

    All land that is owned by Council and classified as community land is required to be under a plan of management.  With the development of the draft Community Land PoM, Council is able to comply with this legislative requirement. Previously, only 95% of the community land owned by Council was under a plan of management.

    What are the differences between the 2018 Generic PoM and the Draft Community Land PoM?

    The 2018 Generic PoM only covered land that is categorised as park, sportsground, general community use or natural area. The draft Community Land PoM covers more land than the Generic PoM and in more detail. It provides more information for the community to consider regarding how Council manages its community land than the Generic Plan of Management.   The Community Land PoM provides much more detailed mapping than the Generic PoM. There are 59 suburb level maps instead of 9 region maps. Also, 30 areas that have been categorised as an area of cultural significance have been included in the draft PoM in individual schedules to meet site-specific PoM requirements. These 30 areas are under a PoM for the first time and this creates an opportunity to formally review Council management of these areas with community feedback on a regular basis.

    What does the exhibition involve?

    The Draft PoM will be on public exhibition from 11 May to 9 July 2021. Submissions can be made via email, online by completing a feedback form or by sending a letter addressed to the General Manager until 5pm on 9 July 2021.

    A public meeting chaired by an independent chairperson will be held online on 24 June 2021 in three session times (Session 1 is from 1:30 pm - 3:00 pm, Session 2 is from 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm, Session 3 is from 6 pm - 7:30 pm). Please register your interest in a session time so that a meeting link can be sent to you at a later date. Attending a public meeting is another way to make a submission on the draft PoM. The chairperson will make a report to Council on the issues raised during the meeting.

    At the end of the exhibition period, a report of the results of the exhibition activities will be provided to Council. The draft PoM can be downloaded for review or a hardcopy is available for viewing at Council’s Administration Building and at Wollongong branch libraries. For inquires on the draft PoM, please contact Council’s Community Land Management Officer on 4227 7111.  

    What are the 30 areas of cultural significance under this draft PoM?

    1. Austinmer Beach Reserve, Austinmer
    2. Bellambi Oval, Bellambi
    3. Bells Point Park, Austinmer
    4. Bendena Gardens, Stanwell Tops
    5. Berkeley Cemetery, Unanderra
    6. Bulli Raceway, Bulli
    7. Coomaditchie Lagoon, Port Kembla
    8. Cribb Street Public Reserve, Berkeley
    9. Emperor Court Public Reserve, Berkeley
    10. Farrell Park, Fernhill
    11. Glastonbury Gardens, Austinmer
    12. Illawarra Historical Society Museum (the former Wollongong Post Office), Wollongong
    13. Korrongulla Swamp, Primbee
    14. MacCabe Park, Wollongong
    15. Market Square, Wollongong
    16. Moreton Bay Fig at Farmborough Road, Farmborough Heights  
    17. Moronga Park, Clifton
    18. Mt Brown Reserve, Dapto
    19. New Community Land near Sandon Point Aboriginal Place, Bulli and Thirroul
    20. Pendlebury Park, Woonona
    21. Phil Adams Park, East Corrimal
    22. Rube Hargrave Park, Clifton
    23. Russell Vale Golf Course, Russell Vale  
    24. Terania Street Playground, Russell Vale
    25. Thirroul Beach Reserve, Thirroul
    26. Unnamed Reserve – Stonehaven Rd (Triangles Park), Stanwell Tops
    27. Unnamed Reserve at Northcliffe Drive Site ID 578, Lake Heights
    28. Unnamed Reserve at Northcliffe Drive Site ID 586, Lake Heights
    29. Unanderra Community Centre and Library, Unanderra  
    30. Waniora Point (Bulli Point), Bulli

    What are the new 26 Community Land Parcels under this PoM?

    The new community land parcels are listed in Table 20 of the Draft Community Land PoM and include land in Berkeley, Bulli/Thirroul, Dombarton, Figtree, Fairy Meadow, Helensburgh, Koonawarra, Mt Kembla, Otford, Scarborough/Wombarra, Towradgi, Woonona, Wollongong, and Wongawilli. Each relevant Community Land Suburb Map shows the location of the new land and the proposed community land category for the land.  A list of the 26 community land parcels can also be found in the Key Documents section. 

    What are community land categories?

    They are defined by the Local Government Act 1993 and guide Council’s management of the land. The possible community land categories that could apply to community land are shown in the figure below: 

    Each community land category has defined core objectives under the LG Act which guide Council’s management of the land.  Leasing and licensing of land under this PoM is to be consistent with the core objectives of the community land category that applies to the land. 

    Generally, community land categories relate to the nature and function of the land.  If community land is categorised as a natural area there are additional limits on the leasing, licensing, and development of land. In most instances, land categorised as a natural area will not be developed unless it is to assist the public to access to the land (for example Council may build a boardwalk like the one at Puckey’s Estate).  Leasing out a built permanent structure on land categorised as a natural area is not permitted.  

    Taking these limitations on leasing land categorised as a natural area into account, many areas that could be considered as natural area foreshore are categorised as park or general community use if there are facilities like surf lifesaving club buildings on the land.

    What are the rules for Land generally? Council owned and Privately owned

    Council owned land must be classified as either "Community" or "Operational" Land under the Local Government Act. Community Land cannot be sold and has to have a plan of management over it. Operational land can be sold and managed in line with Council resolutions.

    What land types does Council manage besides community land under the Local Government Act?

    Council manages 3 main land types; Crown land, Council-owned land and road reserve. Each land type is managed according to its own legislation.